Skip Navigation

Research Program

Cluster 1

Applied Microeconometrics, Labour, Population, and Health Economics

This cluster is comprised of eight faculty members who cover the applied research fields of labour economics, population economics, and health economics. Microeconometric methods are the main tools in these research areas, complemented by microsimulation and computable equilibrium analysis. Part of the research addresses important issues in economic policy.

Examples for research in cluster 1 are projects in the DFG Research Unit (Forschergruppe) 655 on “prioritization in decisions in health services” at the University of Duisburg-Essen and projects in the DFG SPP 4429 (“Schwerpunktprogramm”) at the University of Bochum and the RWI on “Firm Wages and Market Wages”. Further projects on the evaluation of economic policy are conducted in applied policy analysis.


Cluster 1: Applied Microeconometrics, Labour and Population Economics, Health Economics
Professor Research Areas
Bauer Migration, population economics, applied microeconometrics
Felder Health insurance, reimbursement of health care providers, competition in and regulation of health care markets
Frondel Applied econometrics in the fields of environmental, resource, and energy economics
Haisken-DeNew Applied labor economics, applied micro econometrics, wage structure, education, migration, welfare and income inequality and health economics
Karlsson Health Economics
Kraft Labor market economics, industrial organization, empirical economic research
Schmidt Applied econometrics, in particular labor and population economics
Schnabel Labor supply, wage determination, social security and early retirement, social service and unemployment insurance, savings behavior and private retirement arrangements, microeconometrics

Cluster 1 current doctoral students:
Leilanie Basilio
Rui Dang
Simon Decker
Merve Cim
Martin Fischer
Andreas Gerster
Matthias Giesecke
Sarah Okoampah
Adam Pilny
Björn Sossong
Christoph Strupat

Cluster 1 Alumni:
Dr. Daniel Baumgarten
Dr. Peggy Bechara
Dr. Jan Brenner
Dr. Claudia Burgard
Dr. Regina Flake
Dr. Annika Herr
Dr. Matthias Keese
Dr. Michael Kind
Dr. Marcus Klemm
Dr. Tobias Körner
Dr. Annika Meng
Dr. Stefanie Neimann
Dr. Alfredo Paloyo
Junior-Prof. Dr. Vivien Procher
Dr. Saskia Schmidt
Junior-Prof. Dr. Hendrik Schmitz
Dr. Stefanie Schurer (senior lecturer)